Areas of Learning

Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS)

What is the EYFS?

At The Old Fire Station Nursery we follow the EYFS Curriculum. The EYFS is a statutory framework which sets out welfare, learning and development goals for children aged 0-5 years old. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.

Within the EYFS there are seven areas of learning, the areas of learning are grouped into two categories, Prime areas and Specific areas.

The Prime areas are crucial as they lay the foundations for children’s success in all of the other areas. The Prime areas are:

1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development

2. Communication and Language Development

3. Physical Development

The Specific areas provide the range of experiences and opportunities for children to broaden their knowledge and skills. The Specific areas are:

4. Literacy

5. Mathematics

6. Understanding the World

7. Expressive Arts and Design

Would you like more information?

To find out more please speak to a member of staff or alternatively visit the EYFS website, which can be found at