Areas of Learning

Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS)

What is the EYFS?

At The Old Fire Station Nursery we follow the EYFS Curriculum. The EYFS is a statutory framework which sets out welfare, learning and development goals for children aged 0-5 years old. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.

Within the EYFS there are seven areas of learning, the areas of learning are grouped into two categories, Prime areas and Specific areas.

The Prime areas are crucial as they lay the foundations for children’s success in all of the other areas. The Prime areas are:

  1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development
    • Making Relationships
    • Self Confidence and Self Awareness
    • Managing feelings and Behaviour
  2. Communication and Language Development
    • Listening and Attention
    • Understanding
    • Speaking
  3. Physical Development
    • Moving and Handling
    • Health and Self Care

The Specific areas provide the range of experiences and opportunities for children to broaden their knowledge and skills.

  1.  Literacy
    • Reading
    • Writing
  2.  Mathematics
    • Numbers
    • Space, Shape and Measure
  3. Understanding the World
    • People and Communities
    • The World
    • Technology
  4. Expressive Arts and Design
    • Exploring and using Media and Materials
    • Being Imaginative

Would you like more information?

To find out more please speak to a member of staff or alternatively visit the EYFS website, which can be found at